My Favorite Sites

If you’ve been reading Knitting Unplugged for awhile, you may have figured out which sites and blogs I tend to be drawn to. There are so many great sites, but it is easy to become overloaded with information, and it’s not humanly possible to keep up with them all. The following sites/blogs are the ones I follow most. A few of them have nothing to do with knitting, but are interests of mine – writing, self-publishing, and creativity.

All Things Knitting and Other Needle Crafts

  • Fringe Association – If you like more of a personal expose on the knitting journey, this site is for you. I particularly find the projects and designs on this site to my taste.
  • Purl Soho – My wish list would include a visit to this New York City store. It not only sells knitting patterns, yarns, and accessories, but other needle crafts. The site is full of quality content.
  • Churchmouse Yarns and Teas – Another fabulous shop located on Bainbridge Island, a short ferry ride from Seattle, Washington. A great selection of patterns – my all time favorite “Turkish Bed Socks”. These socks are amazing as loafer socks in the summer.
  • Wool and The Gang – A great UK site for beginners, with fashionable knits and accessories, sold as individual patterns and kits.
  • Brooklyn Tweed – Jared Flood is the inspiration behind this company, bringing knitters high quality materials and designs.

My Other Interests

  • The Creative Penn – Joanna Penn is a successful author entrepreneur of both nonfiction and fiction. I like this site for the information on all aspects of writing and marketing your work, with a focus on self-publishing.
  • Lateral Action – I came across this site after reading Mark McGuinness’s book “Motivation”. It’s a great site about creativity and developing your creative side – for all the right brain thinkers.
  • ProBlogger – The King of blogging, Darren Rowse writes about the art of blogging as business.

I hope you find some of these suggestions inspiring.

