Weekly Fave!

Fabric Stitch Throw

My Latest Design - Fabric Stitch Throw

My Latest Design – Fabric Stitch Throw

This week I am presenting my latest design and it’s my Weekly Fave! choice. I’m posting it early because I am going on a much needed, short vacation this week. Although it takes some time to knit, it is simple and looks woven. I used Galway Irish Worsted Wool, and any worsted would work. Here are the instructions:

Materials: Galway Worsted Wool, 10-200m balls or any worsted weight, 4.5mm long circular needle, couple of markers.

Size: Approximately 43in (108cm) wide by 60in (150cm) long.

Gauge: For this project, gauge is not critical but is around 20 sts and 26 rows to 4in(10cm).

Stitch Patterns: Seed Stitch (for borders) – k1 * p1, k1: repeat from * to end. Repeat this row for pattern. Fabric StitchRow 1(RS): k1, * yf (yarn forward), slip 1 purlwise, yb (yarn back), k1: repeat from * to end. Row 2: Purl. Row 3: k2, * yf, slip 1 purlwise, yb, k1; repeat from * to last stitch, k1. Row 4: Purl. Repeat these 4 rows for pattern stitch.

Throw: With 4.5mm circular cast on 215 stitches. Work in seed stitch for 12 rows. Next row: Work 7 stitches in seed stitch, PM (place marker), work Row 1 of fabric stitch to last 7 stitches, PM, work 7 stitches in seed stitch. Continue in pattern as set till piece measures 58.5in (146cm). Work 12 rows in seed stitch as beginning. Bind off. Block or wash blanket.

